top of page

Keepin' it casual ...

It's a hard line between being stylish/trendy and comfortable as a mom. We put so much, time, money and effort into looking good, but lets be realistic; this can't happen everyday. Here are a few tips for you to help...

1.) Hoodies and sweatshirts are a must! If you want to "dress them up" so you don't look like you rolled out of bed try this:

- Buy a sweatshirt with a trending brand, if you can see it, or plain one. Not all brands should be printed across your chest. Brands like Calvin Klein, Champion, Nike, Adidas etc. are acceptable brands to wear as an adult (in my opinion). I am wearing a Calvin Klein Men's Small hoodie in my picture ($14.99 from T.J. Max). Can't beat that! I paired my hoodie with a comfortable pair of jeans. Fabric is key when it comes to denim. My Gap mid-rise stretch jeans have a blend of 27% Polyester, 51% cotton, 14% Lyocell (key to being so comfortable) and 2% spandex(also a must). Last, instead of a pair of tennis shoes, i paired everything with a plain Steve Madden boat shoe/slip-on. Adding an easy side braid/bun and a fresh 5 minute make-up face will tie your look together.

2.) Get a few comfortable jackets/button ups or chambray shirts....

-I picked a light olive (fall neutral) Max Jeans jacket. It's machine washable (make sure you check the tags before you buy something). The easier to clean, the better. If something says hand wash or dry clean only, i don't even bother buying it.

Make sure you stick to versatile, comfortable layering pieces. Quality is better than quantity. I paired my outfit, again, with a comfortable pair of jeans and a stretch/spandex tank top. My favorite laying tanks to buy are from Eddie Bauer and Buckle. They last a long time, are comfortable and wash super well! I added a pair of wedged ankle booties and a necklace to dress it up. And of course, i'm sporting my brown leather diaper bag :)

3.) Sweater/Sweatshirt dresses are a fall must!

This is my favorite piece, from the Express Factory Outlet, because it is a sweatshirt material. Super comfortable and inline with the fall trends with lace up detailing on the side. I paired this one with a black sparkling slip-on, and a Violet Ray handbag to make my outfit look more put together. For a date night look: switch to a clutch and a heeled ankle bootie or knee high suede boot.

bottom of page