top of page

Divine Protection- Part 3

God lays out covenant promises for us in His word. With every promise, God ALWAYS delivers on His end when we do what we need to do on our end. God is not a God who will lie, so we have to listen to what His word says so that we can receive all of the heavenly blessings God has for us.

Obedience:

"You must love the LORD your God and always obey his requirements, decrees, regulations, and commands." Deuteronomy 11:1

So, let's start with this; if you love God, you will keep his commandments. Jesus says, "If you love me, obey my commandments" John 14:14.

Take a look at these 2 scriptures, " If you listen carefully to the Lord your God and do what is right in his eyes, if you can attention to his commands and keep all his decrees, I will not bring on you any diseases I brought on the Egyptians, for I am the Lord, who heals you." Exodus 15:26

Joshua 5:6 says, "The Israelites had moved about in the wilderness forty years until all the men who were of military age when they left Egypt had died, since they had not obeyed the LORD. For the LORD had sworn to them that they would not see the land he had solemnly promised their ancestors to give us, a land flowing with milk and honey."

You notice how because these Isrealites did NOT obey the Lord, so the Lord did not move on their behalf.

We can't go through with life doing whatever we want and than expect God to move for us. He gives us guidelines on how to live in His word. If we CHOOSE to NOT obey Him, how can He bless us? "Blessed rather are those who hear the word of God and obey it." Luke 11:28.

Obedience is following what God instructs us to do in his word.

Proverbs 1:20-33 talks about wisdom and says..

"Wisdom shouts in the streets. She cries out in the public square. She calls to the crowds along the main street, to those gathered in front of the city gate: “How long, you simpletons, will you insist on being simpleminded? How long will you mockers relish your mocking? How long will you fools hate knowledge? Come and listen to my counsel. I’ll share my heart with you and make you wise. “I called you so often, but you wouldn’t come. I reached out to you, but you paid no attention. You ignored my advice and rejected the correction I offered. So I will laugh when you are in trouble! I will mock you when disaster overtakes you— when calamity overtakes you like a storm, when disaster engulfs you like a cyclone, and anguish and distress overwhelm you. “When they cry for help, I will not answer. Though they anxiously search for me, they will not find me. For they hated knowledge and chose not to fear the Lord.They rejected my advice and paid no attention when I corrected them. Therefore, they must eat the bitter fruit of living their own way, choking on their own schemes. For simpletons turn away from me—to death. Fools are destroyed by their own complacency. But all who listen to me will live in peace, untroubled by fear of harm."

God says that if we listen to Him, THEN we will live in peace and not be harmed. See how it works both ways.

Proverbs 3:21-26 "My child, don’t lose sight of common sense and discernment. Hang on to them, for they will refresh your soul. They are like jewels on a necklace. They keep you safe on your way, and your feet will not stumble. You can go to bed without fear; you will lie down and sleep soundly. You need not be afraid of sudden disaster or the destruction that comes upon the wicked, for the Lord is your security. He will keep your foot from being caught in a trap."

I love Proverbs because everything is laid out so clear for us. It is easy to ingest and has so much instruction on every area of life! Just read through it and pray things out. Like in Proverbs 3...start praying for common sense and discernment so that you will be safe and not stumble.

Proverbs 4:10-14, "My child, listen to me and do as I say, and you will have a long, good life. I will teach you wisdom’s ways and lead you in straight paths. When you walk, you won’t be held back; when you run, you won’t stumble. Take hold of my instructions; don’t let them go. Guard them, for they are the key to life."

PRAYER- "Thank you Lord that as I continue is listen to you and follow your instruction, you will satisfy me with a long, good life. Thank you that your wisdom will lead me and my family on straight paths. Thank you that we will walk in faith and walk in your wisdom and not be held back! Thank you that when we run we will not stumble in Jesus name! Thank you that me and my entire house will hold onto every instruction and not let go- In Jesus name, Amen!" If you don't know what to pray, open God's word and speak it out! It will not come back void.

Blessings for Obedience-

“If you fully obey the Lord your God and carefully keep all his commands that I am giving you today, the Lord your God will set you high above all the nations of the world. You will experience all these blessings if you obey the Lord your God:

Your towns and your fields will be blessed. Your children and your crops will be blessed. The offspring of your herds and flocks will be blessed. Your fruit baskets and breadboards will be blessed. Wherever you go and whatever you do, you will be blessed.

“The Lord will conquer your enemies when they attack you. They will attack you from one direction, but they will scatter from you in seven!

“The Lord will guarantee a blessing on everything you do and will fill your storehouses with grain. The Lord your God will bless you in the land he is giving you.

“If you obey the commands of the Lord your God and walk in his ways, the Lord will establish you as his holy people as he swore he would do.

Then all the nations of the world will see that you are a people claimed by the Lord, and they will stand in awe of you.

“The Lord will give you prosperity in the land he swore to your ancestors to give you, blessing you with many children, numerous livestock, and abundant crops. The Lord will send rain at the proper time from his rich treasury in the heavens and will bless all the work you do. You will lend to many nations, but you will never need to borrow from them. If you listen to these commands of the Lord your God that I am giving you today, and if you carefully obey them, the Lord will make you the head and not the tail, and you will always be on top and never at the bottom. You must not turn away from any of the commands I am giving you today, nor follow after other gods and worship them." Deuteronomy 28:1-14.

bottom of page