top of page

Refresh for fall...

We have had such nice weather in September and most of October, but i can say now- it is officially sweater weather! I don't have a big walk in closet so i switch out my clothes twice a year a store what i am not wearing. Here are some tips for switching out your closet and organizing it for the season.

- First; before i take everything out/get in over my head and have clothes everywhere, i take it one step at a time.

- I take out everything that i am going to sell, toss, or donate and place it into one of these baskets i have labeled.

Tip** Once i transferred clothing in separate bags, i went online and scheduled a veterans pick-up to ensure that i get everything out of the house within the week. You can go to https://pickupplease.org and schedule the VVA to come to your house and pick up items you want to donate. They come anywhere from 8-3 and you just leave your bags out and they leave a tax deduction form for you once they receive your items.

-Next, after everything i don't want or need anymore is out,

I place all of my off season clothing in a pile to get it out of my closet.

Tip***I purchased a hanger tree on Amazon (bottom left) to keep all my hangers organized when not in use.

-After I have my piles established, I grab Ziplock storage bags (I found an off brand at Aldi) and I place all my clothes into bags.

-I keep all of my off season clothes in our master under our bed in storage drawers, so during the week I was able to take one storage bag at a time(or as many i had time for), take the clothing out, separate into piles (from my first picture).

-Once all fall/winter clothes are sorted through and the ones i want to keep are put into closet, i can go ahead and the vacuum my summer clothing storage bags and place in drawers.

Tip** Take bags you want to sell (consignment, Plato's Closet, Clothes Mentor etc.) and put them right in your car so they aren't lingering around your house for weeks.

-Now i go back to my closet and make sure everything is where it needs to be (organize as you go though).

Last you can take a steamer and steam anything that is wrinkled from being in storage. It may seem like a time consuming thing to do but what you do now can save you so much time later.

I worked on this project a little each day from Sunday to Wednesday. Now I have an organized closet with only items that I will actually wear all steamed and ready to go. I never have to say, "I have nothing to wear" because i got rid of everything that doesn't fit or I don't wear anymore and only have current, in style items that I love and fit. Now it takes me way less time to get ready.

**Tip- when you purchase something new to add to your wardrobe, get rid of something old. When you have too much clutter in your closet and you can't visual see what you have, you won't wear it. Also, when you see everything you have, you are less likely to buy things you do not need.

**Tip- If you have not warn something in 2 years, get ride of it! You aren't going to ware it and it is just taking up space. Also, don't keep something that you think will fit you in the future (again, think back to the 2 year rule). If you end up hitting your weight goals, and you will, treat yourself to something new-you deserve it!

bottom of page