top of page

Why I give good gifts....

I remember back when I was younger, it was the end of the day on Christmas and I gave my mom a present. It was a present that I threw together and didn't take much time to make. I didn't have a job so I made this gift....that day. I'm not sure what mood she was in that day but she told me that I might as well have not given her a gift instead of just throwing something meaningless together. It may sound harsh to tell your kid that but it was true. She wasn't going to lie and pretend that it was the greatest thing in the world because it definitely was not. That really stuck with me though...I believe that if you give someone a gift, put thought into it and really try to bless them or don't bother giving them anything at all. I love paying attention to what people like throughout the year in order to get them the best Christmas gift. Think about how much time parents or anyone takes to pick out the perfect gift and prepare for the Holidays. How much more do you think God loves us that he prepared the ultimate gift and ultimate sacrifice of His Only Son, Jesus Christ, just for us.

Isaiah prophesies in the old testament what God had been preparing to do for us. "Therefore the Lord himself shall give you a sign; Behold, a virgin shall conceive, and bear a son, and shall call his name Immanuel." Isaiah 7:14

God is our father and the most high who loves us so much. "I am the Alpha and the Omega," says the Lord God, "who is and who was and who is to come, the Almighty." Revelation 1:8

"For this is how God loved the world: He gave his one and only Son, so that everyone who believes in him will not perish but have eternal life." John 3:16

He gave the greatest gift by giving his only son and allowing him to die so that he would have everlasting life, be free of sin, be healed and walk in healing and fullness of life, abundance, wholeness and walk with him in his glory. He sent his Holy Spirit so that we would have a mediator and walk in Jesus' power here on earth to save people from this lost world so that they can be united with Christ. “I tell you the truth, anyone who believes in me will do the same works I have done, and even greater works, because I am going to be with the Father." John 14:12

God gave us the greatest gift of all and still blesses and gives good gifts to his children here on earth. "So if you sinful people know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly father give good gifts to those who ask him." -Matthew 7:11

Jesus came to break the curse of sin so that we could live like heaven on earth as well. "May your kingdom come soon. May your will be done on earth, as it is in heaven." Matthew 6:10.

And once Jesus dies for us and rose from the dead, He left earth and God gave us his His spirit...

“If you love me, obey my commandments. And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Advocate, who will never leave you. He is the Holy Spirit, who leads into all truth. The world cannot receive him, because it isn’t looking for him and doesn’t recognize him. But you know him, because he lives with you now and later will be in you. No, I will not abandon you as orphans—I will come to you. Soon the world will no longer see me, but you will see me. Since I live, you also will live. When I am raised to life again, you will know that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you. Those who accept my commandments and obey them are the ones who love me. And because they love me, my Father will love them. And I will love them and reveal myself to each of them.” Judas (not Judas Iscariot, but the other disciple with that name) said to him, “Lord, why are you going to reveal yourself only to us and not to the world at large?” Jesus replied, “All who love me will do what I say. My Father will love them, and we will come and make our home with each of them. Anyone who doesn’t love me will not obey me. And remember, my words are not my own. What I am telling you is from the Father who sent me. I am telling you these things now while I am still with you. But when the Father sends the Advocate as my representative—that is, the Holy Spirit—he will teach you everything and will remind you of everything I have told you.

“I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid. Remember what I told you: I am going away, but I will come back to you again. If you really loved me, you would be happy that I am going to the Father, who is greater than I am. I have told you these things before they happen so that when they do happen, you will believe.

“I don’t have much more time to talk to you, because the ruler of this world approaches. He has no power over me, but I will do what the Father requires of me, so that the world will know that I love the Father. Come, let’s be going." John 14:15-30.

Thank God this season for sending us his greatest gift and reflect on his glory and love today. "Today in the town of David a Savior has been born to you; he is the Messiah, the Lord." Luke 2:11

bottom of page