top of page

DIY carpet cleaner

Hello to all my cleaning mommas out there! Whether you like cleaning or not, it is an inevitable task that needs done each day/week. I vacuum at least every other day, sometimes once a day. A few times a week, when i deep clean, i like to use a carpet refresher that i make myself. It saves me money, but more importantly, I know exactly what's in it. I have 3 dogs and a 21 month old, so i like to stick with safer cleaning alternatives.

I fill an empty 48 oz sugar container a quarter of the way up with baking soda and put about 10 drops of my choice of essential oil. I then fill it up half way and add about 10-12 more drops, finish filling it up with baking soda (leave some room so you can mix) and shake. All done! (If you want, you can also make this with half baking soda and half Borax (which is a multi purpose deodorizer you can buy at any grocery store). I sprinkle on the carpers after i sweep and let sit for 10-20 min and vacuum up. I love lavender, so in our bedroom and Manni's room i usually use just lavender essential oil. Also for a bright fresh pick-me-up i LOVE mixing sweet orange and eucalyptus. It smells so crisp and fresh! My entire home smells amazing without a fake strong scent.

Happy Cleaning!

bottom of page